Astley Park was laid out in the 1920s on land owned by the Hastings family of Seaton Delaval Hall. The park provided recreational and social activities for the mining community.
As with many parks in the mining communities of the North East, the park supported thriving bowls, football and tennis clubs and the grounds were a showcase for traditional park bedding and horticulture. The Astley Park Bowls Club was established in 1931 with the Veterans Bowls Club formed in 1938.
When the pit closed in 1960, Astley Park suffered from a lack of investment. In early 2000, the Seaton Valley Community Assembly set up a steering group to redevelop the park. With the support of Blyth Valley Borough Council and the community, a plan was drawn up which secured funding for development.
The plan has led to the following improvements:
- a youth area including skate facilities and multi-use games area
- upgraded play facilities
- refurbished tennis courts
- new planted areas and avenue style entrance from Elsdon Avenue
- new paths and seating
- a community garden
- new park pavilion